Radioactive Silence

“Fear not, for I am with you; be not dismayed, for I am your God; I will strengthen you, I will help you, I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.”‭‭Isaiah‬ ‭41:10‬ ‭ESV‬‬

It has been about 30 hours since I took the I 131 pills. Thirty hours of no physical human contact. As much as this is a drag, I feel blessed to live in a time when technology has made it possible to have so many “distractions” we can use to pass the time and have conversations with the outside world. So mentally, outside of missing my son and husband, I am doing good. 

Physically, I’m not in any pain, I’m just exhausted due to being in a super Hypo state. I read how much of a drag the Low Idoine Diet (LID) was and I think a lot of that has to do with being off the thyroid medication. I have never been so, just, physically exhausted in my life. So much so that I had to stop exercising due to that and some dizzy spells I was experiencing. I write this not to complain about it, but to prepare anybody going through this that might read this has an idea of what to expect. 

I thank the Lord that I have an amazing partner in my husband who has been so supportive and understanding throughout this entire journey. He has never hesitated in picking up the slack that this whole cancer thing has caused. Especially during those times, like now when I can’t physically help take care of our tornado of a 19 month old. So thank you, babe! 

And right now, aside from hugging my hubby and son again, before that can even happen, I am most looking forward to 1:30p tomorrow when I can eat regular food, sans seafood, again! I’ve been dreaming of a bean and cheese burrito and my favorite Starbucks drink. I guess a California roll will have to wait a few more days. 

The next step is a body scan. I go in for that next Friday, so that will probably be my next post topic. And this is where I will leave you. Netflix and sour patch kids (for the dry mouth) are calling my name. 

Leave a Reply

